Guide To Stop An iCloud Restore On iPhone & iPad

iCloud backup restores can be stopped at any time on newer iOS devices. This means that if you have chosen to restore an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch from an iCloud backup, either when setting up a device with a prior iOS backup, or to restore a problematic device as a troubleshooting method, you can stop the iCloud Restore process at anytime. This article will explain how to stop an iCloud backup restore to an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.

How to stop an iCloud restore on iPhone or iPad

Step 1: Open the “Settings” app in iOS

Step 2: Tap on “Your Name” at the top of the Settings list to access iCloud settings

Step 3: Next tap on “iCloud”

Step 4: Now tap on and choose “iCloud Backup”

Step 5: Tap on “Stop Restoring iPad” (or “Stop Restoring iPhone”)

Step 6: Confirm that you want to stop restoring from iCloud by tapping on “Stop”

Currently, iOS does not provide a list of data that has been restored, or has not yet been restored, and so if you stop the restore process from iCloud you will not have any idea as to what was restored or what wasn’t. This is one of many reasons why it is not recommended to stop an iCloud Restore, as you may permanently lose data or other important stuff.

If you are going to stop an iCloud Restore because it’s stuck or for some other reason and thus want to start the entire iCloud Restore from a backup process over again, you may want to reset the iPhone to factory default settings or reset the iPad to factory settings, and then during the fresh device setup, choose to restore the appropriate iOS backup again, either from iCloud or from iTunes. If you’re using iCloud Restore, be sure to have a fast and reliable high speed internet connection.

>>> Read more: Enable Bold Text On iPhone And iPad

5 (100%) 1 vote

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top